How to play faster pieces

I’d be grateful for any advice on how to improve my ability to play more quickly.
I’ve been playing for 2 1/2 years and this past year have focused on tone and done specific exercises (10 minutes of long tones every day, slow scales using a tuner to make sure I’m in tune while changing volume.)
Now I would like to improve my speed and wonder if there are specific exercises that would help. I have decided to practise scales and arpeggios at speed using a metronome, but is there anything else I could incorporate into my practice regime. I practise for an hour a day (retired person) and am around grade 4 Trinity.

Sounds like you’re off to a great start! To play faster make sure that your instrument is in good repair, so that you are not being forced to compensate for a poor response caused by leaks. Play with the most correct hand position you can muster. Be aware of where you place your fingers on the rings and return your fingers with the same placement each time you press a key. This should help you to avoid squeezing the keys closed. Play without squeezing, using just enough pressure to close the keysceffectively. Lifting the fingers will then be quicker and more even.

Regularly practice a variety of material at tempos that allow you to play mostly correctly. Fix mistakes by playing small, difficult passages slowly and correctly. Don’t play them incorrectly a bunch of times in an effort to get them right once. This kind of “un-practicing” is counter productive.

Distinguish between reading mistakes and technique mistakes. This can give you some perspective on how to fix them.

Be patient. Speed comes gradually with careful and informed practice. Enjoy your successes. You don’t have to be a virtuoso to play wonderful music!