Member Introductions

Hi, my name’s Joy and I live on the south coast of England. I play clarinet which I started to learn on my 60th birthday, 2 1/2 years ago, when my husband surprised me with one as a gift. I love it! I played piano many years ago and also play folk guitar and a bit of classical guitar, but it’s the clarinet I really spend time playing every day.
I like listening to a wide variety of music, but on clarinet I enjoy classical pieces as well as tunes from musicals, some old ‘big band’ stuff and pop from the 60s and 70s.

1 Like

Welcome and thanks to new users @Joy, @iansdigby, @LenTheSpaceWolf, @Sandy for joining and posting recently.

Also thanks to @abena26, @Lynn_Lewandowski, @sarakilpa, @DoubleReeder, @GASAX, @Dylan_Ovanin, @Glynis72, @LarryS, @MrPeteO, @Clarineat, @ChrisKolClarinet, @Alex_Mortensen, @jmcl13 as well. I should’ve thanked you sooner, I’m still learning how to be a good moderator.

You can post feedback here, or message me privately if you have questions or want to see something changed. I’m here to help.

It’s awesome to see an international crowd! I’m hoping to add country flags to user names at some point. I asked my provider and they’ll consider adding it to the basic plan. But ultimately the community needs to grow (and monetize) in order for me to invest in a few more bells and whistles. So please spread the word! And keep posting!

2 Likes

Who are you and where are you from?
I’m Roberto Marcenaro from Montevideo, Uruguay. I’m software engineer and saxophone beginner.

What do you play?
Saxophone

What music inspires you?
I like listening all of kind of music. I love Blues. Currently listening to jazz, funk to training my ear.

What is your favorite food?
Italian food and some Uruguayan classics like ‘asado’ or ‘milanesas’ ;).

Hi, Becky from Michigan. Studied to be a professional flutist, found more fun as a hobbyist. I live in Michigan and play flute but recently took up sax and clarinet so I could be more versatile. My favorite gigs are musical pit orchestras even though most of it is volunteer work.

2 Likes

I’m Glen Quarrie. I grew up in Ligonier, PA, went to music school in Pittsburgh, PA and Bloomington, IN, lived in Pittsburgh for 20 years and now reside in Brookfield, WI, a suburb of Milwaukee.

I play flutes, clarinets, saxophones and oboes

I try to listen to all sorts of music, but tend to play a lot of musical theater, jazz and classical music. It’s all good!

I tend to like carbs, but am a fan of most cuisines.

Welcome and thanks to new users @Jdbassplayer, @musicalmerlin, @Lindsey_Wiehl, @rmarcenaro, and @Flutician for joining and posting recently.

Thank you for being a part of this community!

Hi everyone! I’m Luke. I’m from Madison, WI.

I play the saxes (SATB), Clarinets (Bb, bass), and the flute & picc.

I’m into a lot of different styles, funk, jazz (big band, larger combo), Latin, as well as the ever popular pit orchestra.

Cannonball Adderley is my absolute favorite sax player of all time, which I guess is an inspiration by default. That and the sax section of the Big Phat Band. Those guys are animals.

I’ll eat just about anything that’s done with care.

Hello! I’m Allison, owner of Summit Horn Repair in Acworth, GA. I’ve been repairing professionally since graduating from Western Iowa Tech’s BIR program in 2010. Ive been an active member on WIT’s advisory committee for the band instrument repair program since 2012 and a NAPBIRT Regional Director 2019-2021.

I love working on woodwinds, especially when a challenge I haven’t encountered before arises. My favorites are Signet clarinets and vintage King and Martin saxes- they just sound so rich!

Recently, my fiancé and I (also a tech) have been getting into surf rock: the Ventures, Los Straightjackets, etc

We cook tons of creole-New Orleans style dinners 4-5 nights a week (he’s from just north of NOLA) and it’s been the best food I’ve ever eaten!

Hi friends!

My name is Olivia, writing to y’all from Milwaukee, WI. I play flutes, clarinets, and saxophones.

This week I’ve been listening to Bedouine, Joanna Newsom, and Fiona Apple, which google says fall under the generic umbrella of “Indie chamber freak folk avant-garde baroque pop”. Some all-time faves: Amy Winehouse, Erroll Garner, and Willie Nelson.

After being vegetarian for about 10 years, I’m trying to graduate to veganism. I’m hanging by a thread, but that thread is Thai food and oreos :slight_smile:

I”m Tom from New York State (not the city).
Basically a classical saxophonist, mostly alto & soprano.
Also play some big band bari.
Former Army Bandsman and HS band director.
Currently playing in the Westchester Symphonic Winds, an outstanding community based 60 piece concert band.
Love my new Yani horns and my old Mark VI.

Welcome and thanks to new users @SummitHornRepair, @musical_mercenary, @mjpauers, @olidobbs, and @TomSax joining and posting recently.

Feel free to reach out if you have any questions or concerns.

Thank you for being a part of this community!

Waynes World Yes GIF

Who are you and where are you from?
Edited note: I’m a double reed enthusiast. I live in Joliet, Illinois (50 minute drive from Chicago)
What do you play?
Oboe, English horn & bassoon
What music inspires you?
Classical from around the world
What is your favorite food?
Coffee…

Hi my name is Marc and I’m from Canada . I just started learning how to play the alto saxophone for about two months. I practice when I can because busy with the family and work full time. I just play when I am alone because my kids think I’m loud. LOL.

The music that I’m into is RnB, hip hop and alternative. Right now trying to listen to more jazz music.

My favourite food is pizza, popcorn and let’s at veggies in there gotta be healthy right? LOL

My goal at the moment is to learn how to play a whole new world. I started it and watch the YouTube videos that has tabs. I m still learning how to read sheet music.

Also I would like to upgrade my saxophone with in a year or so. The saxophone I have is good, but a bit old like back in the 90’s

Welcome and thanks to new users @lelpep, @CherylRuth, @TMHeimer, @Marcus for joining and posting recently.

Feel free to reach out if you have any questions or concerns. Just click my name to send a Direct Message.

Thank you for being a part of this community!

Austin Powers Doctor Evil GIF

Who are you and where are you from?
I am Dan Geer. I have served in ministry for more than 30 years. I am married, have 5 children, and 8 grand children (so far). We live in Mishawaka, Indiana, next door to Elkhart, Indiana, where some of the best saxophones of the past were produced. There are many small antique shops here that have vintage instruments unbeknownst to them. I am involved in a new school start-up, Virtue Bible Institute
What do you play?
I have played sax, flute. clarinet, and keys, but currently own 2 tenors and an alto sax. I play worship twice per week.
What music inspires you?
Jazz, but not fusion.
What is your favorite food?
Good Mexican, not Taco Bell